• Agnes

Second Meeting of Technical Working Committee on Malaysian Sustainable Palm Oil [TWC(MSPO)]

14 August 2017, Kuala Lumpur: MPOCC organised the Second Meeting of Technical Working Committee on Malaysian Sustainable Palm Oil Standards [TWC(MSPO)] held at Corus Hotel Kuala Lumpur.

The meeting was attended by some 25 members representing a balanced multi-stakeholder representation of the oil palm sector.

The TWC(MSPO) is a voluntary multi-stakeholder representation of relevant Malaysian stakeholders or groups with interest in the oil palm sector that comprise of members having relevant expertise nominated by their respective organisation representing eight stakeholder groups from the three regions, Peninsular, Sabah and Sarawak.

The eight stakeholder groups comprise of government agencies [MPIC, MPOB, MPOC, Jabatan Tenaga Kerja (JTK), DSM], industry upstream organisations [MEOA, SOPPOA, EMPA, MOPDA, MPOA, MOPNA), industry downstream organisations [Malaysian Biodiesel Association (MBA), Malayan Edible Oil Manufacturers’ Association (MEOMA), Palm Oil Refiners Association Malaysia (PORAM), Malayan Agricultural Producers Association (MAPA)], smallholders organisations [National Association of Smallholders (NASH), Dayak Oil Palm Planters Association (DOPPA), Sarawak Land Consolidation and Rehabilitation Authority (SALCRA), Lembaga Kemajuan Tanah Persekutuan (FELDA), Sabah Land Development Board (SLDB), Persatuan Pekebun Kecil Kelapa Sawit Sabah], environmental NGOs [Malaysian Nature Society (MNS), Sabah Environment Protection Association (SEPA), WWF-Malaysia], indigenous people organisations [Sarawak Dayak Iban Association (SADIA), Federation of Orang Ulu Association Sarawak Malaysia (FORUM)], workers union organisations [The National Union of Plantation Workers (NUPW), Malaysian Trades Union Congress (MTUC)] and academia/research and development institutions (UPM, UNIMAS).

The 1-day meeting focused on the deliberation of the Terms of Reference (TOR) of TWC(MSPO), discussions on the confirmation of Standards Setting Procedures (SSP) and discussion on the First draft Supply Chain Certification (SCC) Standard to be used under the MSPO Certification Scheme.

Beginning 2016, MPOCC is responsible for the Standards development and review as the Secretariat to the [TWC(MSPO)].

Last month, the First Meeting of TWC(MSPO) was held on 10 July where Steven Yow Thin Chin from Federation of the Palm Oil Millers Association Malaysia (POMA) was appointed as the chairperson of the TWC(MSPO), whereas, Dominic Dambul from EMPA and Napolean Royal Ningkos from DOPPA were appointed as the two vice-chairmen, respectively.